Fair Preview - Champaign County

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Champaign County Fair Preview A special supplement of Wednesday,July 31, 2019 2019

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Parents: Kelly Evans-Wilson and John Wilson Organization Name: 4-H and FFA High School Attending: Mechanicsburg High School Year completed in school: 11th grade Graduation date: May, 2020 Special interest: Singing, soccer, basketball, reading, animals, swimming, public speaking What do you most like to do in your leisure time? I enjoy reading books, hanging out with my siblings and friends. I am constantly singing or humming. I always love to play games and be active in everything that I do.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA, and School Activities. Include honors won, held, awards received, etc.

4-H: 4-H Sheep Skillathon winner 3 years in a row 4-H Market Lamb project – 6 years 4-H Club Secretary 1 year 4-H Club President 2 years 4-H Clothing projects – 8 years 4-H Nutrition project – 1 year 2018 Top Senior Model Sewing State Fair Representative FFA: 3-year member 2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Urbana Daily Citizen 2 Wednesday,July 31, 2019 Nineapplytobe2019 ChampaignCountyFairQueen Welcome to the 2019 Champaign County Fair Preview section. Last year’s Champaign County Fair Queen, Lora Current, was selected as the Ohio Fairs Queen earlier this year. Nine have applied to compete for the 2019 Champaign County Fair Queen title.

This special section includes their photos and biographies of their accomplishments along with essays about how participation in the Champaign County Fair has helped prepare them for the future. The 2019 Champaign County Fair Queen will be announced the evening of Sunday, Aug. 4 during ceremonies at the grandstand. A panel of judges will choose the winner prior to the crowning and the annual contest is sponsored by Vernon Funeral Homes.

Staff photo 2018 Champaign County Fair Queen Lora Current is shown in this file photo after being crowned last year at the grandstand. Emma Wilson Wilson Market Hog project – 3 years Chapter President, 2019 - 2020 Chapter Reporter, 2018 - 2019 State Public Speaking, 2018 District Public Speaking, 2019 State Degree Recipient, 2019 Chapter Degree Recipient Greenhand Degree Recipient High School: Freshman Class President Sophomore Class President Junior Class President 3-year High Honor Roll 3-year Varsity Soccer 3-year lead in School Musical 3-year Student Council member Vice President 2018-2019 National Honor Society member National Honor Society President, 2019 – 2020 3-year band member 3-year choir member 3-year member of the basketball team 3-year statistician for the softball team 2017 Sophomore Class Homecoming Attendant Prom Committee Chair Champaign County Fair 3-year Junior Fair Board Member Junior Fair Board Reporter - 2019 Caught pig in pig scramble Community: American Legion Americanism test winner 3-year Be W.I.S.E.

STEM Camp counselor Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) representative, 2018 Buckeye Girls State Representative, 2019 10-year Relay For Life Volunteer Kelly’s Krew team member Messiah Lutheran Church Praise Team Choir member No Room at the Inn volunteer Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: I have a very strong interest in public speaking. I decided to pursue public speaking after becoming a lead in the school musical. My FFA advisor said it would be a good choice for me because I enjoy presenting in class, and speaking in front of people. I had one month to write a six to eight-minute prepared speech on any agricultural related topic.

This was a challenge but public speaking was something I felt I could do very well at so I used every spare moment to create my speech. Memorization is one of my skills, so that part of the speech was easy. In selecting an agricultural topic I chose something of interest to me – differences between conventional and organic farming. As someone with food allergies, knowing how and where my food is produced dramatically affects my life. My first time reciting my speech in front of judges was nerve wracking; however learning I made it past the first round gave my confidence a big boost. This year I participated in the Extemporaneous category for FFA public speaking.

For this event, you select a topic at random, have 30 minutes to research the topic, and then give a 5-minute speech. Participation in this event provided an opportunity to learn about many agricultural topics while continuing to improve my public speaking skills. This experience will benefit me throughout life and I am thankful for the opportunity FFA has provided me.

Essay Question: How has your involvement in the Champaign County Fair better prepared you for the future? My involvement in the Champaign County Fair has prepared me for my future by instilling responsibility, respect, and pride. First, by participating in 4-H and FFA projects I learned responsibility. Taking multiple projects to the fair requires financial responsibility and time management. Raising an animal takes a lot of time and effort. While my parents help with my animals, I must feed them, walk them, and clean their pen because they are my responsibility. While my animals are at the fair I am in charge of making sure they have a clean pen, enough water, feed, and they are ready for the show.

I must take care of them even if I am hanging out with friends, riding rides, or even watching another show. These animals are my responsibility and they depend on me. This experience will prepare me for in the future if I decide to have kids or pets. Also, I’ve learned that when you commit to a project or a task you must do all that is required to complete that project, even when it means making difficult choices with how to spend your time.

I’ve also learned financial

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Parents: John and Marlo Schipfer Organization Name: 4-H, FFA, High School Attending: Mechanicsburg High School Name of College and major (if applicable): Miami University, Science in Kinesiology and Health Year in school (completed May, 2019): High graduate, Upcoming College Freshman Special Interests: Basketball, Softball, Track, Cheerleading, Volleyball, Student Council, Mechanicsburg FFA, Mechanicsburg Leaders and Feeders 4-H Club, National Honor Society, 4-H Camp Counselor, St. Michael’s Church Server, In Good Taste Catering Food Preparation/Service, Goshen Township Park Concessions Stand Worker, Babysitter, St Michael’s Church Youth Choir, Mechanicsburg Spring Musical What do you most like to do in your leisure time? I’m blessed to have the ability to play the sports that I love.

I really enjoy playing sports, so most of my “leisure” time is spent at practices or games. I also really enjoy reading. I can escape in a book for hours at a time. Fiction is my favorite, but I will read just about anything that I can get my hands on. While FFA is a school activity, like athletics, I love spending time in the ag room. I enjoy doing workshop projects to raise money for the chapter, and I currently spend many hours practicing with my Meats Evaluation team for the National Contest taking place in Indianapolis in October. But even with many outlets of entertainment, when I need time to relax, I love getting the chance to sit down at a piano.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA and School Activities. Include Honors won, offices held, awards received, etc.

Mechanicsburg Leaders and Feeders 4-H Club: Offices: News Reporter (2010), Health Officer (2011), President (2012), Treasurer (2013-15), Secretary (2018) Projects: Market Swine (2010-15), Cake Decorating (2012), Cooking (2016), Financial Planning (2017), Community Service (2018), Scrap-booking (2019) Additional Activities: 4-H Camp Counselor (2016-19), Jr. Pork Council (2017) Awards: Book Project State Project (2016,2018), 2013 Swine Herdsman Junior Division Runner Up, 2018 4-H Girl of the Year Mechanicsburg FFA State Degree recipient (2018) Offices: Treasurer (2017-18), Vice President (2018-19) General Livestock CDE Judging Wednesday,July 31, 2019 3 Urbana Daily Citizen 2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW responsibility through my involvement in the Champaign County Fair.

There is a lot of food, games, and merchandise that can be bought at the fair. In order to make sure I do not run through all of my money from the first day I set up a budget before the fair begins and map out what I can and should spend each day on food, sweets, and prizes. Going to the fair each year has taught me financial responsibility from a young age, by not only budgeting but learning to save up money from my birthday, odd jobs, and other places to then be used responsibly at the fair itself. Having the ability to save and budget while being tempted to spend money all the time will help later in life when I’m on my own.

My involvement in the Champaign County Fair has greatly improved my time management skills. From timing how long it takes to get from my camper to my pens, the swine barn to the grandstand, the hang glider ride to Farmer’s Daughter French fries, to knowing when to start washing my pig so that I’m ready to go into the show ring, time management is a necessity at the Champaign County Fair. Being able to manage my time correctly has created more opportunities to have fun at the Fair, instead of rushing around being late, or canceling plans with friends. The Champaign County Fair has taught me to be responsible with my time, how to get the most out of my favorite week of the year and will be crucial in everything I do.

In addition, I have learned respect from attending the Champaign County Fair. Each year of showing and being at the Fair presents itself with a new set of challenges and opportunities. These challenges especially come to light when working on the Jr. Fair Board. I was always taught to treat others how you want to be treated and I was also taught to respect my elders. So when an older person in the community comes up to you very angry after a show you must remain calm and show respect, even if they don’t give it back. Everyone deserves respect no matter who you are or what you are doing. Learning how to give and show respect even during challenging times will prepare me for dealing with people in the workforce.

Being involved in the Champaign County Fair has given me a great sense of pride not only for my town, but the county as a whole. When I go to other fairs I find myself comparing their barns, activities, people, grounds and buildings to the Champaign County Fair. Out of all the fairs I’ve seen I am 100% certain ours is number one. We have amazing support from the community and the grounds are well kept all year long. When someone asks about my home fair I go on-andon, trying not to brag about just how much I love the Champaign County Fair.

The Champaign County Fair may only come around one week out of the entire year, but each year it leaves a lasting imprint on not only me, but everyone it touches. I am very blessed to have been involved with the fair for so many years. I have learned valuable lessons about responsibility and respect. I am mostly thankful for how much pride I have in being from Champaign County. No matter where I go or what I do, I will always be from Champaign County Ohio. I would be honored to serve our community as the Champaign County Fair Queen.

  • Elizabeth Schipfer See SCHIPFER | 5 Quality Used Cars & Trucks Tom Jarvis
  • Gary Reser 912 N. Main St., Urbana 937.484.6000 OH-70137867 and Now IT SHOULDN’T HURT TO GROW OLD... To report elder abuse or for more information on how you can protect the elderly Call 484-1500 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF JOB AND FAMILY SERVICES champaigndjfs.org OH-70138924

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Parents: Brooke & Anthony Spina Organization Name: 4-H High School Attended and year of graduation: Hilliard Darby High School 2019 Name of College and major (if applicable): University of Kentucky (2019 incoming freshman) Dual Major: Animal (prevet) and Agricultural/Medical Biotechnology Year in school (completed May, 2019): Senior Special Interests: My special interests include photography and competitive swimming. What do you most like to do in your leisure time? In my free time I enjoy reading and swimming depending on which best suits the weather. I love staying active when hanging out with friends, whether it be trail walking or wandering downtown for photo shoots.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA and School Activities. Include honors won, offices held,Awards received, etc. 4-H: 10 years (2010-present); Mad River Jr. LivestockPresident (2019)/ secretary (2017-2018)/ vice president (2014, 2015, 2016) Buckeye Shepherds-News Reporter (2010) Market lamb showmanship division winner-Rookie (2010)/ Junior (2011)/ Intermediate (2012)/ Senior (2017) Market lamb skillathon winner (2013)-Junior (2017) Junior clothing skillathon winner (2013) County rep at state fair for-veterinary science 1 and 2 2017 Lamb and Wool Queen Extreme 4Her Outstanding Market Exhibitor (market lambs) State Fair (2016) State skillathon winner (2018) Reserve Champion Open Class Southdown State Fair (2017) Ohio Sheep Improvement Association: 4-year member LEAD Council Junior Director 2 years Age division Reserve Champion Showman (2017, 2018) Age division third place showman (2016) Darby HS Swim Team: 4-year member Darby Scholar Athlete (2015-2019) OCC Scholar Athlete (2018-2019 season) Varsity letter sward (2016-2019) Team Captain (2018-2019 season) Darby HS Photo Club: 4-year member Vice President (2018-2019) Darby HS NHS, 3-year member Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: A special interest of mine is photography, the interest was sparked after taking a photo class my Freshman year.

I have since taken all the photo classes that Darby offers, I was Vice President of Darby’s Photo Club this past year and helped to organize outings to shoot. I have had my work displayed in the Columbus Museum of Art three times over these past three years and have participated in three other photo competitions, earning an Honorable Mentions in the Scholastics competition. Essay Question: How has your involvement in the Champaign County Fair better prepared you for the future?

As wide-eyed little girl that loves animals nothing new, nothing unique. That is how I started out. I have lived in central Ohio suburbs my whole life, but my grandparents, Wayne and Judy Russell live in Mutual. By the time I was five the Champaign County Fair became the best part of my summer. Somehow, I was lucky enough that one of the livestock breeders, Kevin Neer and his daughters Betsy and Maggie, taught me how to show lambs at the fair. I have been raising and showing market lambs for ten years at the county, state, and national levels. 4-H and the fair have helped raise me in my morals and responsibilities, as well as allowing me to branch out and make new friends and pushing me into other amazing organizations.

I have learned that hard work is important, as long as you remember to keep pushing how hard you work. I am grateful for the new perspective that I have been given and never would have seen without 4-H.

This Champaign Co. 4-H experience also helped shape my dream of becoming a large animal veterinarian with my own clinic, which I began dreaming about when I was only in third grade. Over the years many people have told me that I would change my mind because I would not be able to handle the job and what it entailed. These comments stuck in the back of my mind for several years but with the experience I gained caring for my own animals and working with my veterinarian to keep them healthy I realized with certainty that this was my dream career. I have shadowed four veterinarians and spoken to at least eight about what my future plans would entail.

I have looked up to veterinarians my whole life as people who could help my animals and who could teach me how to best care for them. My life goal is to one day be that person for others.

It seems as if I have lived a double life for the past ten years. Spending my school year in the suburbs with people who do not understand what I did when I showed my animals or why I had to sell my animals to market, some even went so far as to call me a murderer for selling my animals. Summers are spent with friends who loved showing just as much as I did, who understood why livestock and agriculture were so close to my heart. Because of my need to be as close to livestock/ agriculture as possible I worked hard to become a member of our Jr. Fair board and a member of the OSIA LEAD Council (the Ohio Sheep Improvement Association LEAD brand works to help run shows at the Stat Fair and educate the youth about 4-H and showing).

In addition, based upon my experiences I will be attending the University of Kentucky next year to study Animal Science and Agricultural/Medical Biotechnology. I do not believe that I could have accomplished any of the above without the experience I gained form the Champaign County Fair. It not only sparked my interest in livestock at a young age, but it also opened many doors in my life, I could not have made the connections necessary to join OSIA without our fair. I could not have made all of these lifelong friends without that first full week of August every year and our favorite fair food stops.

I have had so many things change throughout my life three schools, two homes, many friendships, and one very scary car accident. But even with all of these changes in my life, the Champaign County Fair has been a constant and a great part of my life. No matter the circumstances in my outside life, I know that the Champaign County Fair will always bring me hope, joy and even sanity to my usually hectic life. These fairgrounds have shaped me as a person and have helped me grow in ways I did not know that I could. Because of my experiences I feel ready to take on my future and know that I can be successful so long as I so not let go of the halter when I feel like everything is spiraling out of control.

I do not know what the future holds, but a good showman takes what they are given and makes it look good.

2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Urbana Daily Citizen 4 Wednesday,July 31, 2019 Ariana Spina Spina

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Team: 2017 State Champion Team, 2017 State Twelfth High Individual Meats Evaluation CDE Judging Team: 2018 State Runner-Up Team, 2019 State Champion Team Projects: Market Swine (2016-17), Market Lambs (2017-18),2017 Reserve Champion Scramble Pig Mechanicsburg FFA Ag Booster Scholarship Recipient, Mark Hartley Award and Scholarship Recipient Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: General livestock judging a CDE in which individuals compete against others in the evaluation and placing of classes of livestock.

Competitors will judge classes of beef, swine, lambs, and goats during contests, and will complete keep/cull classes, a market grid, and written exam, and sometimes even oral reasons. The CDE itself is especially challenging because it’s more than just understanding what a quality animal looks like, but truly being able to comprehend what it takes to create great livestock. The concepts of learning range from identifying desired physical attributes of a steer or hog, to applying the live and carcass performance of an animal to determine its market value and learning how to publicly speak clearly and strongly.

I joined the General Livestock CDE team as a freshman, simply because no other activity seemed to bring me the joy I desired in FFA. With conflicting time schedules and my inability to identify exactly what it was I wanted to accomplish in FFA, I joined the team on a whim. I expected to do decently, as I had shown pigs for several years. But I found out that the rewards of joining the team went so much further than just competing well in a contest. During a low point in my life my sophomore year, after God decided that I needed to take a break from sports as I experienced a torn ACL, I relied solely on general livestock judging to get me through it.

It became my new outlet, my new source of happiness during a time when I couldn’t seem to find a new “normal.” But with the guidance of Mr. Neer, the Mechanicsburg FFA Advisor and the camaraderie my teammates gave me, general livestock completely saved me. I no longer felt angry at what I had lost but felt hopeful for the new opportunity that God seemed to put in front of me. That year I went from walking around my first contest on crutches with my clipboard tied around my neck, to a state championship with my team, I completed at Nationals in Indianapolis later that fall of 2017, and I still believe that my team of Miranda Lauchard, Caleb Martin and Jacob Ripley was quite possibly the best team I will ever get the privilege of experiencing.

General Livestock is not easy; in fact, giving oral reasons is quite possibly the hardest task ever (however, helium added a whole new experience and delivery and I made Mr. Neer spit his coffee), but I encourage members to join because it teaches you so much more than just animal science. I learned valuable skills that come from belonging to a team. I learned about time management, how to display confidence even if I didn’t feel it, the value of patience, trusting my instincts, public speaking, coaching each other through frustrations, and so many more valuable assets I can utilize in every area of my life.

General Livestock saved me, it filled a void that was in my heart and helped me find my smile again. I hope that someday other members get to feel the same joy I feel whenever I talk about the memories, I had the privilege of making with my team.

Essay Question: How has your involvement in the Champaign County Fair better prepared you for the future? I’ve struggled with thinking about the future for so long, because so many times I tell myself “I’m not ready,” or that I “just need some more time to better myself.” So truthfully, thinking about heading off on my own to college in just seven weeks terrifies me. There are times when I feel like I’m not organized enough, not quite independent enough to handle adult responsibilities without the aid of my parents, and even times when I fear that I will struggle with making friends. But as I prepare myself for my last fair seek as an active 4-H and FFA member, I can’t stress enough just how wrong I am.

I’m ready because I had these organizations, and because I experienced that privilege of the Champaign County Fair for so many years.

Having an animal project is not easy, because as a teenager I am solely responsible for a living being. Sure, I have the aid of my parents and ag teachers, but without my own responsibility and desire to place my animal’s needs above my own, they don’t survive. So, it falls on me to keep their living space clean, their food and water full, and to simply keep them comfortable. Ultimately, because I was entrusted during fair week and the many months prior to care for such incredible animals. I now possess the level of responsibility it takes to take care of myself. During fair week, things go wrong-animals can sometimes get loose, many forms need filled out throughout the week and it can sometimes get confusing sometimes I need to borrow a shovel, and other times I simply need some showmanship tips.

So, during those many fair weeks, I learned how to properly ask for help, and how to be willing to accept constructive criticism from others. But the most important thing I learned from my many experiences in fair weeks, it the importance of surrounding yourself with incredible people. My greatest memories at the fair are the times when I get to visit with campers that I was a counselor for at 4-H camp, when I get to interact with other exhibitors and learn from their own projects, and when I get to continue to learn from my incredible 4-H and FFA advisors. Mr. Neer has been one of my biggest influences and role models, and so it means the world to me when I get to share fair week with him and show him not only what all I’ve accomplished but what I continue to learn for him.

I didn’t win every show I participated in, didn’t impress every judge I crossed paths with, and made many mistakes. But there is no greater learning experience than getting to work through a labor-filled fair week with many highs and lows, and no greater joy than getting to spend a week with a county that has been my home for so long. Good-byes are never easy, and saying good-bye to 4-H and FFA has been the toughest challenge for my senior year. I won’t remember medals, ribbons, or plaques come September in the midst of my college transition—I’m going to simply embrace the memories God bless me with, and take the skills and work ethic I’ve developed though my 4-H an FFA experiences, and make the many people who have had a hand in shaping who I am, very proud.

Wednesday,July 31, 2019 5 Urbana Daily Citizen 2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Schipfer From page 3 Schipfer IT TAKES A COMMUNITY TO PROTECT A CHILD To report child abuse or for more information on how you can help protect a child Call 484-1500 Champaign County Dept. of Job & Family Services champaigndjfs.org OH-70138921

Fair Preview - Champaign County

2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Urbana Daily Citizen 6 Wednesday,July 31, 2019 Parents: Bill and Melinda Ayars Organization Name: 4-H FFA High school attended and year of graduation: Mechanicsburg High School- 2019 Name of college and major (if applicable): I will be attending Wilmington College and majoring in Animal Science with intentions of attending veterinary school after.

Year in school (completed May, 2019): 12th grade Special Interests: Over the past four years in high school I have developed a passion for FFA and agriculture. Growing up on a farm, I have learned to love the agriculture industry. I enjoy working with the animals and the people. In the future, I have hopes of becoming a veterinarian. Currently I am working at Wingfield Animal Clinic to learn about the field of vet medicine. In FFA, I have also participated in showing cattle, public speaking, meat judging, and becoming the Mechanicsburg FFA President for the 2018-2019 year. What do you most like to do in your leisure time? In my leisure time I enjoy spending time with my family.

Family is very important to me, from my sisters and parents, to my grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Often, I will take my two younger sisters out to eat, shop, hike, etc. so I can spend time with them before I leave for college. Majority of the Ayars family lives on Rosedale Road, so I can easily visit other family. My grandparents live two miles down the road from me, and I enjoy going over to their house to talk and play cards. I also enjoy doing farm chores with my family. In the morning during the summer, I meet my Grandpa Ayars, dad, and sister at the barn to complete our chores.

My family makes doing chores early in the morning enjoyable.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA and School Activities. Include honors won, offices held, awards received, etc. Throughout high school I have participated in different activities including FFA. 4-H, Jr. Fair Board, Varsity Volleyball, Varsity Cheerleading, Spring Musical, Class Officer, and National Honor Society. In FFA and 4-H I have served as President and Secretary, which has helped me develop leadership skills. I have also shown heifer, steers, and feeder calves since 3rd grade in 4-H and FFA. I also participated in FFA Meat Judging, Parliamentary Procedure, Public Speaking, and Agriscience Fair.

Through 4-H I have had the opportunity to explore new topics by taking different projects including Get Started in Art, Explore the Outdoors, Meat Barrow, and Vet Science. I have also been given the opportunity to serve as a 4-H Camp Counselor for the past four years. On the separate document included, I have provide a further description of each activity with awards, offices, honors received.

Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: In FFA I have been able to judge meat. I started judging meat in the fourth grade when my father was asked to coach the team. At my first contest I cried and got only four of the forty meat cuts correct. Now, I am getting almost perfect scores. The past four years in FFA I have been able to compete at many different contest around Ohio and the country. In 2018, my meats judging team placed second in the state which meant we would advance to the national Western Round-up in Denver, Colorado. The contest would take place January of 2019.

My father pushed the team; at the beginning of the school year we would meet three times and week at the end of the school day and had two hour practices on Sunday evenings. However, our hard work paid off. In January we traveled to Denver to compete. Our team finished 3rd overall and I finished in the top 10th individually. During the 2019 Ohio season, our team placed 1st at every contest. We once again competed at the State Contest, and this time we won it. I placed 3rd overall and our team now will get to compete at Nationals in October. In the 3rd grade I started showing beef heifers. My grandpa bought me my first heifer, whose name Snow White.

At a young age I already had a love for the barn and cattle. I would wake up every morning during the summer to do my morning chores of washing, blow drying, and feeding my heifer. I ended up taking Snow White to the state fair. I had never shown at the State Fair before and the people and cattle were very overwhelming. I ended up crying before the first time entering the ring, but I was smiling on the way out because I won my first ribbon. The following year I took a heifer named Missy and we also competed at the State Fair, however this time we left Division Champions.

When I entered high school I joined FFA. For the past couple years before high school I didn’t show cattle because of family decisions. However, my FFA Advisor gave me the idea of showing cattle again, but this time, steers. I presented the idea to my dad and Grandpa, who both have a love for cattle, and they were on board with the idea. Before I knew it, we were out hunting for a calf for the 2016 fair. I purchased a calf from a county breeder and named him Thunder (my younger sister had just entered 4-H and she bought a steer who was named Lightening). Thunder and I only competed at the county fair , but he did amazing.

He ended up winning Cattlemen’s Born and Raised, Reserve Champion Overall, FFA Champion, and he helped me win the Beef Showmanship Show. Thanks to Thunder and Mr. Neer I was totally on board with showing beef steers. The following year, I bought a red calf whose name was Paco. Out of all the calves I had owned, Paco has taught me the most lessons. Paco was the first steer I showed at the Ohio State Fair, and I learned to be humble that year. I placed second to last in Showmanship and we were in the middle of our class at State Fair. At the county fair Paco and I had a accident (which I will talk about in my essay), but we still manage to win Champion FFA.

During the 2018 show year, I had a steer named Mick and we went around to different winter shows through the BEST Program. I got to meet so many people and I learned a lot about showmanship and how to better prepare yourself for the ring. Mick and I went onto the county fair where we won Reserve Cattlemen’s Steer and Champion FFA Steer. Mick was my favorite calf I have had. We had a lot of first together through the BEST Program, but I am thankful for the people who helped support me. This year I took a different route with my show cattle and decided to try something new. The young ones! I currently had two feeder calves, one beef and one dairy.

The dairy feeder project is completely new to me, but so far it has been an enjoyable year. I am excited for the 2019 fair, and I hope that I can make my last time in that ring, since I am a senior, one to remember.

Essay Question: How has your involvement in the Champaign County Fair better prepared you for the future? Since I was a baby, my family and I have attended the Champaign County Fair. It is my favorite week every year because I get to spend time with my family and friends, see everyone else’s projects they have worked hard on all year, present my own projects, make memories, and enjoy time with those around me. Over the years, Champaign County Fair has taught me many lessons to help prepare me for the future. I have learned how to interact and help others by working food booths, shows, pulls, and other events.

I have learned to make every second count with the ones you love, and that your family will always be there for you. Lastly, the biggest lesson I have learned is what hard work truly means, and to never give up, even in tough situations.

Thousands of people attend the fair every year. They come to watch the shows, ride the rides, eat great food, and enjoy our fair. I started at a very young age helping out in the Cattleman’s Food Booth outside the show ring. My first job consisted of getting lemonade or iced tea for people, and as I got older I was able to help serve the food. Dad and grandpa would cook on the grill, while I stayed in the tent (or after a few years we upgraded to a trailer) and prepared sandwiches and wraps. I got to meet so many new people on Cattlemen’s Board and those who came to see the Champaign County Fair.

I also am a part of Champaign Jr. Fair Board, and I am currently serving as Secretary. Jr. Fairboard has taught me how to interact with all kinds of people, while still having a smile on your face. I have worked pulls, Taylor Ayars Ayars

Fair Preview - Champaign County

Wednesday,July 31, 2019 7 Urbana Daily Citizen 2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW shows, and derbys at the fair. I really enjoy working with the different shows because I get to watch the youth present their projects. I understand the hard work it takes to care for an animal all year, and how proud they feel to present their project. While working a beef showmanship show, I learned to always be willing to lend a hand. I was checking calves in when I noticed a young girl crying. It was her first time showing and her calf started to act up. I remembered my first time showing, where I also cried because I was nervous, too.

Her parents kept trying to persuade her to take the calf because it was almost time to go in to the ring, however, she refused. I then offered to help; I asked the girl and her parents if it would be okay if I walked the calf and she held the rope and walked beside me. She agreed to that and we manage to get the whole way through the show. She exited the ring with a smile on her face, and I could tell that her parents were relieved and proud of their daughter.

Family has always played a huge role in my life, and the fair has taught me that family will always be there for you and will always be willing to lend a hand. Anyone who shows beef cattle knows that the projects takes your whole family’s help. The biggest help in my family would be my grandpa Ayars. Every morning in the summer, he would meet me at the barn before the sun rises to do our chores. He never complained of the early mornings, but he loved every minute of it. I loved every minute of chores, because I got to spend time with my grandpa. My grandpa and I have a tradition at fair that started a few years ago.

Each morning, he would pick me up or meet me at the fairgrounds around 6:00 a.m. We usually were the first ones in the barns. While I began chores he would set up a 40-cup pot of coffee. After about an hour, we would finish our chores and the coffee would be ready. We set out two boxes of donuts for all to enjoy while we sat in our chairs by the calves and enjoyed a cup of coffee and donut together. It’s times like these that I have learned to love those around you and to not take any time for granted. The biggest lesson fair has taught me that has helped prepare me for the future is the meaning of hard work, and to never give up on tough situations.

Showing cattle has taught me what hard work is. Before school, in the cold winter temperatures I would have to feed my calves. In the summer I would have to get up before the sun to do morning chores, and at night instead of going out with friends I waited until it was cool enough to let the calves back outside of the cooler room. However, all the hard work pays off, and even though I didn’t win every year, I was always proud of my calf and myself. My one calf Paco, taught me to never give up, and to not lose sight of what I love. It was a Wednesday night at the 2017 Champaign County Fair.

I had just finished getting my 1,400 pound steer, Paco, prepared to go into the ring. We made our way to the ring, and Grandpa told me the same words he says before I enter any show ring: “Give ‘em hell.” Paco and I made our way into the show ring. Halfway through the show, Paco tried to mount another steer, but instead, mounted me. Falling to the ground hard, I got right back up and continued showing. I finished to show for the night, winning Champion FFA Steer. Later that night, my back felt as if I had been in a car wreck. I figured I was just sore from the fall, and I did not think too much about it.

A week later, I was still dealing with the pain, so I went to my athletic trainer, who sent me to a doctor. After learning that I had fractured my vertebrae in my lower back, I was devastated. I was going to be out of playing volleyball my Junior year and was told to rest by the doctor. This also meant rest from my barn activities. After 3 months of resting, healing, and only wanting to get back into the barn, I was able to show my new calf, Mick, in Lima, Ohio. I learned what perseverance was and to never give up what you love. I am very thankful of the Champaign County Fair and all it has to offer.

The fair has taught me many lessons including how to work with others, to never take time with loved ones for granted, what hard work is, and to never give up on what you love. These life lessons have shaped me into the person I am today, and I will continue to use these lessons in the future as I enter college and adulthood. I will always continue to support the Champaign County Fair and our youth, because I know without it, I would not be where I am today. Thank you.

  • 5734 St. Rt. 4
  • Mechanicsburg (937) 834-2606 OH-70137844 Thank You, Lora Current For All Your Efforts During Your 2018 Reign As Representative of Champaign County! Good Luck To The 2019 Fair Queen Candidates and To All The Fair Participants! OH-70138020
Fair Preview - Champaign County

2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Urbana Daily Citizen 8 Wednesday,July 31, 2019 Parents: Kelly Fleming Organization Name: 4-H, FHA High School Attended and year of graduation: Urbana High School Name of College and major (if applicable): University of Kentucky in the fall studying Nursing, in hopes of becoming a Nurse Practitioner.

Year in school (completed May, 2019): Senior Special Interests: My special interests include a wide variety of activities. I enjoy volunteering for many organizations such as NHS, FFA, 4-H. I also enjoy traveling to different countries and understanding all the unique cultures. I also have a passion for music and singing in the community. What do you most like to do in your leisure time? When I have free time, I enjoy playing the piano and hanging out with friends the most. Coffee and food dates are some very important bonding experiences with others in my life. I also enjoy swimming during the summer and helping younger kids with whatever they need.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA and School Activities. Include honors won, offices held, Awards received, etc. 4-H: Current president, past secretary, treasurer, and recreation officer 4-H Camp Counselor Runner-up Junior top mode. 2019 Pork Queen Tech Change makers Ambassador Junior leadership Junior Pork Council 2nd Runner up Fair Queen (2018) Scrapbooking Sewing Nutrition Swine Photography projects Cloverbud FFA 2019 State Degree Gold Rated Secretary Star Chapter Farmer (2019) Meats Evaluation Job Interview Parliamentary Procedure Agricultural Communications Meal of Hope Washington Leadership Conference Recruitment Committee School Activities: Choir -student director, President, section leader French Club Show choir Musical lead all 4 years Freshman Focus Mentor NHS Varsity Cheer Varsity Golf Student Council Class Officer DECA Leadership Committee Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: There are many different activities and accomplishments I reflect back on, but there is one that always stands out.

Becoming a camp counselor at 4-H camp has been one of the best decisions I ever made as a freshman in high school. As a young girl, camp has always been a second home to me. As my years of becoming a counselor close, I am able to; understand the important personality traits, ambitions and memories given to me from this leadership position.

As I became a counselor, I began to understand the responsibility I was given and just how important it was to make the campers week just as special as my years at camp have been. Camp is all about the camper’s experience but many of those young kids do not understand the impact they have on me. As I see the kids faces radiate with fun and excitement, it rewards me with a feeling ho happiness that I have created the joy in their hearts. As I have learned responsibility leadership and so much more, camp has proven to me that I am the outgoing, positive individual I have always wanted Ally Marie Pierce Pierce See PIERCE | 11 OH-70138950 8/13/19 Offer expires Hurry!

1637 E US Hwy 36, Suite 10, Urbana, Oh 43078 (937) 652-1331 Champaign County Fair August 2 - 9 $125 - Year $65 - 6 months 5 day (Tuesday - Saturday) home delivery with E-edition access $125 - Year $125 - Year $125 - Year Fair Week Special Stop by our booth & register to win a 6pc Commercial Bakeware set Courtesy of

Fair Preview - Champaign County
  • Wednesday,July 31, 2019 9 Urbana Daily Citizen 2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Trusted CARE for Our Community At
  • Vancrest
  • Urbana,
  • we’re
  • committed
  • taking
  • great
  • care
  • our
  • community’s
  • seniors.
  • Whether
  • you
  • loved
  • one
  • need
  • comfortable
  • home
  • away
  • from
  • home,
  • personalized
  • rehab
  • program
  • get
  • back
  • home
  • fast,
  • can
  • help.
  • are
  • Vancrest. To learn more, call 937-653-5291 or email us at infoUrbana.com VANCREST Urbana At
  • Home
  • in Champaign County Acceptingwaiver,allpayers. inassistedliving OH-70138013 Vancrest CARE
  • Assisted Living Efficiency and 1 bedroom suites
  • Long-term Care
  • Inpatient/Outpatient - Physical therapy - Occupational therapy - Speech therapy
  • Private Rooms
  • Short term rehab
  • Respite
  • Local 4 star care
  • Resident satisfaction 92.83
  • We have safe and convenient monthly medication bundle packaging that can help you with your daily medication routine!
  • Medication packaging can help you remember when to take your medications, and can provide you peace of mind that you’re receiving the right dose at the right time.
  • Stop in The Medicine Shoppe Pharmacy and learn more about our medication bundling services today! FREE City Wide Delivery Need help managing your meds? 40099335 Your Community Health Source Hometown Professionals Helping People at Home For all of your Diabetic, Respiratory and Home Medical needs call YourNeighborhoodPharmacy Prescriptions filled with a personal touch FREE City Wide Delivery
  • Insurance Claims Filing
  • Caring delivery and set-up
  • Professional patient instruction on proper use
  • NEW EXPANDED SHOWROOM! 821 Scioto Street, Urbana 653-3914 We are more than just a Pharmacy! We realize you have a CHOICE where to get Home Medical and Respiratory Equipment That’s why we make every effort to ensure that we deliver the best quality Equipment and Service every time!

653-3914 OH-70138025

Fair Preview - Champaign County

2019 CHAMPAIGN COUNTY FAIR PREVIEW Urbana Daily Citizen 10 Wednesday,July 31, 2019 Parents: Brook & Betsy Cupps Organization Name: 4-H High School Attending: Centerville High School Name of College and major (if applicable): Year in school (completed May, 2019): Junior Special Interests: My special interests include the dairy industry, Spanish, serving those in need through faith, serving foster children, and photographing rural and agriculture-based settings. What do you most like to do in your leisure time? My favorite thing to do with my leisure time is helping my grandpa on his farm.

I also love mentoring younger girls with Young Life. I spend most of my winter supporting my brother and dad in basketball. In my solitary leisure time, I attend hot yoga, journal, and watch TED Talks.

List 4-H, Girl Scouts, FFA, FCCLA and School Activities. Include honors won, offices held,Awards received, etc. Country Critters 4-H Club: secretary, president, vice president, Jr. Dairy Skill-AThon winner, Dairy Showman of Showman, 3rd place in King of the Ring, Leslie Broshes Herdsman Award recipient. Red & White Dairy Cattle Association: Ohio State Fair Red and White Jr. Grand Champion, Grand Champion Holstein Champaign County, 1st place Red & White Jr. 2-year-old at North American International Livestock Expo, All Ohio Jr. 2-year-old & 3-year-old cow, Jr. All American Jr. 2-year-old red & white cow National Honor Society BOLD (Building Our Lives Drug-Free) Vape-Busters PBIS (Positive Behavior Interventions and Support) Young Life: leadership role at camp, act as a mentor Avant Stamp Test: received the score to be eligible for the seal of Biliteracy in Spanish Discipleship Bible Study Junior Fair Board Ecuadorian Exchange Lunch Buddies Reading Buddies Homecoming Court: selected as junior class representative Describe any particular interest or activities of the above groups: Country Critters is my 4-H club where I show dairy cows, heifers, feeders and steers.

I attended 4-H camp for four years and participated in the 2017 pig scramble. As a Club, we take annual field trips to mega dairies like Fair Oaks. Our community projects have always been to improve our community (ex: Cleaning bike paths: but recently they have shifted to directly improve our fair week, like disinfecting and repainting the dairy barn).

The Red & White Dairy Cattle Association strives to promote the breeding and development of Red & White Dairy Cattle by providing breeders with information and services to help improve the breed. It has allowed me to compete with my cows and heifers at county, district, state and national level shows, and to participate in the 50th Ohio State Fair Sale of Champions. National Honor Society highlights Student’s academic, leadership and service achievements. NHS has encouraged me to look for service opportunities, like serving at my church or reading with children at Centerville’s elementaries.

BOLD stands for Building Our Lives Drug-Free. We model and promote a drug and alcohol-free lifestyle where it’s not popular. We spot issues in our community, and work to mend them. As a group, we have hone into freshmen homerooms to share why we are drug and alcohol free and done panel at our middle schools and allowed those students to ask questions about drugs, alcohol, or high school. Vape-Busters is a sub-group of BOLD that chose to specifically target the vaping epidemic in our school. We noticed a lack of knowledge about vape and e-cigarettes, so we created an entertaining and informational video for the health classes at our school.

PBIS stands for Positive Behavior Interventions and Support. Our core values are respect. Responsibility and citizenship, and we work to encourage those values in our student body. All of the students in PBIS were selected by teachers for having high character. We meet once a month with the teachers also in PBIS and our coordinating principal. We have signs hanging throughout the school helped with weekly raffle drawings, and created a video introducing our core values of the following school year. The Avant Stamp Test was provided to students who wish to verify their proficiency in two languages.

This test consists of four parts to show the student’s ability to read, write, speak and listen in two languages. I took the test for Spanish, however there are 15 languages to choose from. Young Life is a global Christian organization focused on bringing high school students to know Jesus through authentic relationships once a week, we gather for a Bible study, and then spend time with one another, we go on a weekend retreat in the fall, and a week camp trip in the simmer. As someone who has gone to our summer camps and fall retreats multiple times, I get to help my leaders guide our cabin’s nightly reflection times as the younger girls near the gospel for the first time.

Discipleship is the Young life’s upper classmen Bible study. We meet every Friday before school and dive deeper into the scripture than our full group Bible study during the week. Junior Fair Board mirrors the senior fair board to maintain and improve the Champaign County Fair. This year as a board, we have attended the Ohio Fair Managers Conference, worked at the Matt Calland Truck Pull, painted a snowplow, worked at the Champaign County 4-H extension office, and designed and printed maps for the fairgrounds.

In the Ecuadorian Exchange, my school had students for Ecuador spend the month of February with us in Centerville.

In the past, students have come from Costa Rica and Argentina as well. I hosted a student for two weeks, and it was one of the best experiences. She has horses in Ecuador, so she loved doing barn chores with me, and visiting my grandparents’ farm. In Lunch Buddies, the guidance counselors at the six Centerville elementaries identify students that are at risk, whether it be poor grades, behavior, or home life. Then, these students are matched to a high school student. Once a week, we to eat lunch with our buddies and spend time with them.

Reading Buddies was just started at our school this year. We went to Centerville’s Primary Villages (grades Prek-1st). We simply read books with groups of young kids and talked to them about their interests. For Homecoming Court, I was selected by my peers to represent the class of 2020 (about 700 students). I received recognition in our school magazine, during our homecoming football game, and at our homecoming dance. Essay Question: How has your involvement in the Champaign County Fair better prepared you for the future? The Champaign County Fair has prepared me for my future by weaving endurance, hard work, patience and humility into the fabric of my character.

Its early mornings, long days and late nights have grown and developed a work ethic within me; one that has grit and perseveres. Its wild weather, judge’s lineups, and young visitors have provided me with opportunities to cultivate a humble attitude of servant mindedness.

This past year, I brought eight cows and heifers to the fair. The preparation before fair and the work during the week did not bring immediate gratification along with it. However, as I reflect on our hours on the wash rack and our chaotic show day, I am grateful for the opportunity to do things that are not easy. I can now use this endurance and hard work when I have an overload of homework, or in 10 years when my first kid is crying through the night. I am confident that these moments at the Champaign County Fair have helped and will continue to help me embrace the uncomfortable, difficult parts of everyday life.

One of my favorite parts of fair are the young kids who walk through the barn after they’ve finished eating their Sno-Cones and riding rides. Children have such a unique curiosity within them, and the Champaign County Fair has given me opportunities to interact with it. I love being interrupted by a little five year old who just wants to pet my heifer. The chance to make their day brighter with my projects, and perhaps to ignite an interest within them about the dairy industry or agriculture as a whole is priceless. This sacrifice of my time has allowed me to serve my friends with more patience, and to think of myself second.

These traits drawn from the Champaign County Fair have helped me take ideas from others more readily, which I am able to utilize now in my classes and I will be able to utilize in a future job. Ally Cupps Cupps

Going to next pages ... Cancel